About us

Our Story

We are Mags and Stephen Bradley. Together with our teenage children, Holly and Tom, we moved from Sussex to South-west France and set about establishing Cariton Retreat after falling in love with its stunning views and abundant nature.

The guest house is set in the two and a half acre garden adjacent to our family home with its own terrace and outdoor areas in which to relax and grow. Our intention is to provide a sanctuary for guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of this beautiful Gascon valley as much as we do. The place is rooted in history in a quiet spot off the bustle of tourist trails, yet the local village with a vibrant market, art galleries, restaurants and bars is a pleasant 15 minutes walk through vineyards and sunflower fields.

Our connection with the local community in the pretty medieval town of Montréal du Gers is an important part of our retreats with trips to explore encouraged. As food lovers we share the region's passion for good food and love preparing nutritious meat-free meals with international flavours using organic local and home-grown produce. See sample menu.

Our former careers in management ensure that looking after clients, paying attention to detail and giving visitors an enjoyable experience is very important to us. Our work in web production and media in Dublin, London and Brighton, and our international outlook have come together to bring us and our combined people skills to this peaceful corner of France. Having organised and participated in art, dance, music, spiritual and yoga events in the UK we wanted to bring the best of these contemplative and creative practices to this open and spacious environment.

Music is an important part of our family life and something we love to share. We have several instruments available for playing at your leisure during your stay. It is our pleasure to share the peace and tranquility that we have found at Cariton and provide a space that others can enjoy and grow in. We have been enriched enormously by being here and feel sure you will be too.

Also sharing the house and land with us are our rescue dog Molly, an 8yr old Shihtzu/Bichon/Griffon cross who moved here with us from the UK, and Coco an approx 18 month old calico coloured cat who found and made her home with us towards the end of our first Summer here (2018). Both animals are curious and friendly. The dog is a little anxious when new people first arrive and will woof a little then soon calm down. The dog is not allowed in the guest house and garden area, the cat is harder to contain but if she is becoming bothersome to guests can be more closely restricted.